- This PET is the NMTCB Positron Emission Tomography Technologist specialty credential, separate from entry-level CNMT.
- The exam has 225 multiple-choice questions (200 scored, 25 pretest) and allows three hours 45 minutes.
- Diagnostic Procedures carries 35%, the largest weight, followed by Instrumentation/Quality Control at 30%.
- Candidates must already hold an active qualifying credential and document clinical PET hours before applying.
What the PET Credential Actually Is
On this site, PET means one thing: Positron Emission Tomography. The credential is the Positron Emission Tomography Technologist Certification, issued by the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB). It is a specialty certification for technologists who perform and support PET imaging, and it recognizes a depth of knowledge in that single modality.
It helps to be precise about what this credential is not. It is not the entry-level CNMT, the foundational nuclear medicine technology certification. It is not the separate NMTCB(CT) credential, and it is not the combined PET/NCT pathway. Those are distinct certifications with their own requirements. The PET specialty exam is built around a PET-only content outline, and the board publishes that outline so candidates can see exactly what is in scope.
If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what PET certification is and what PET stands for cover the basics, and the PET certification overview gives the broader picture.
The Technology Behind the Name
Positron emission tomography is a molecular imaging technique. A radiopharmaceutical labeled with a positron-emitting isotope is administered to the patient. As the isotope decays, it emits a positron that travels a short distance, meets an electron and annihilates, producing two 511 keV photons traveling in nearly opposite directions. The scanner's detector ring registers these paired photons in coincidence, and reconstruction software turns millions of such events into images of tracer distribution.
That physical foundation drives much of what a PET technologist must understand:
- Coincidence detection: true, scattered and random coincidences, and why each affects image quality differently.
- Attenuation correction: typically performed with a companion CT or other transmission data on hybrid systems.
- Detector performance: scintillation crystals, timing resolution and sensitivity.
- Quantification: standardized uptake concepts and the factors that bias them, such as uptake time, glucose levels and calibration errors.
The exam does not ask you to recite physics for its own sake. It asks you to connect physics to practice: why a calibration drifts, why a patient preparation step matters, or why an artifact appears on a reconstructed image.
Where PET Technologists Work
PET technologists are employed wherever PET or PET/CT imaging is performed. Common settings include:
- Hospital nuclear medicine and molecular imaging departments
- Academic medical centers and cancer centers, where oncologic imaging is a major workload
- Outpatient and freestanding imaging centers
- Cardiac imaging programs that perform myocardial perfusion and viability studies
- Research facilities running clinical trials with PET endpoints
- Radiopharmacies and cyclotron facilities that prepare and dispense PET tracers
Because the credential signals competence in tracer handling, scanner operation and radiation safety together, employers often view it as evidence that a technologist can work across the full PET workflow. For a deeper look at the job market, see our guide to PET jobs, and for compensation context read the PET salary guide. If you are weighing the investment, the ROI analysis walks through the trade-offs.
Two Routes to Eligibility
You cannot simply register for the PET exam. NMTCB requires an active underlying credential plus documented PET experience. There are two published routes, and which one applies depends on your background.
| Requirement | Route One | Route Two |
|---|---|---|
| Active credential | CNMT, ARRT(N) or CAMRT(RTNM) | ARRT(R/T) or CAMRT(RT/RTT) |
| Additional credential | None required | A CT or MRI credential |
| Clinical PET hours | 700 qualifying hours | 1,000 qualifying hours |
| Documented competencies | Not specified for this route | 100 documented clinical competencies |
| Didactic hours | Not specified for this route | 70 hours |
What Route Two Demands
Route two is more structured because candidates come from outside nuclear medicine. The 70 didactic hours break down as 20 in procedures, 20 in instrumentation, 10 in radiation protection and 20 in radiopharmacy. The 100 competencies comprise 50 imaging cases, plus ten each in daily scanner QC, dose-calibrator QC, radiation surveys and meter QC, radioactive-package handling, and radiopharmaceutical preparation.
For both routes, qualifying clinical and didactic work is subject to five-year recency conditions, and a supervisor or employer must verify it. Start collecting documentation early; verification is often the slowest step. Our PET requirements guide walks through the prerequisites in more detail.
How the Examination Is Built
The exam is delivered on demand through computer-based testing at test centers, administered by IQT, Inc./Iso-Quality Testing. The format details are specific, and confusing them with another exam's format is a common mistake.
- Total questions: 225 four-option multiple-choice items.
- Scored versus pretest: 200 scored items and 25 pretest items. Pretest questions are unscored trial items, and you will not know which they are.
- Time allowed: three hours 45 minutes.
- Navigation: you answer a question before advancing, but you may mark items, review them and change answers.
- Reference materials: closed book.
- Calculator: you may bring an allowed noiseless battery or solar calculator without text-storage capability. No calculator is supplied, so bring your own.
With 225 items in 225 minutes, you have roughly one minute per question on average. Calculation-heavy items, such as decay corrections and dose computations, will consume more than that, so budget time you recover from faster recall questions. For a candid look at difficulty, see how hard the PET exam is.
What "Passing" Means
The examination committee establishes a passing standard specific to each exam form, weighing content, item statistics and form difficulty. There is no single universal raw percentage you can memorize, and you should be wary of anyone who quotes one. Likewise, historical pass-rate figures or provider success claims do not establish a current pass rate. Our articles on the PET passing score and the PET pass rate explain how to interpret what is and is not known.
The Four Content Areas in Detail
The NMTCB content outline organizes the exam into four official content areas. The weights below are the board's approximate weights, not editorial suggestions. The outline allocates 70, 60, 20 and 50 scored questions respectively across the four areas, which sums to the 200 scored items.
| Content Area | Weight | Scored Questions |
|---|---|---|
| Diagnostic Procedures | 35% | 70 |
| Instrumentation/Quality Control | 30% | 60 |
| Radiation Protection | 10% | 20 |
| Radiopharmaceuticals | 25% | 50 |
Domain 1: Diagnostic Procedures (35%)
The largest area covers how PET studies are performed and why. Expect questions that move from clinical indication to patient preparation, acquisition and interpretation support.
- Patient preparation, including fasting and glucose considerations for metabolic imaging
- Oncologic, cardiac and neurologic study protocols
- Acquisition parameters and uptake timing
- Recognizing common artifacts, including those from motion, attenuation correction mismatch and injection issues
- Image reconstruction and display concepts relevant to technologists
Domain 2: Instrumentation/Quality Control (30%)
The second-largest area tests whether you understand the scanner and keep it performing reliably.
- Detector design, coincidence timing and sensitivity
- Daily scanner QC, normalization and calibration routines
- Dose-calibrator quality control
- Hybrid system alignment between PET and CT components
- Corrections for scatter, randoms, dead time and attenuation
Domain 3: Radiation Protection (10%)
The smallest area is still high-stakes, because errors here affect people directly.
- Time, distance and shielding principles applied to 511 keV photons
- Radiation survey procedures and meter QC
- Radioactive package receipt and handling
- Regulatory dose limits, waste handling and spill response
Domain 4: Radiopharmaceuticals (25%)
This area covers the tracers themselves, from production through administration.
- Production concepts, including cyclotron-produced and generator-produced isotopes
- Isotope half-lives and decay calculations
- Tracer mechanisms, biodistribution and normal variants
- Radiopharmaceutical preparation, dispensing and quality assurance
Because NMTCB does not recommend a particular commercial study guide, check any book or course against the current content outline, especially for tracer coverage. For a full walkthrough of each area, read the complete PET exam domains guide, and keep the PET cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Fees, Scheduling and Test-Day Rules
The nonrefundable application and examination processing fee is $225. Because it is nonrefundable, confirm that you meet every eligibility requirement and have your supervisor verification in place before you submit. The full cost picture, including any underlying credential maintenance, is broken down in the PET certification cost guide.
Once your application is approved, your testing eligibility lasts six months. That window is generous but finite, so plan your study calendar backward from a realistic test date rather than scheduling casually. Our guide to PET exam dates and scheduling covers booking mechanics.
On test day, expect admission and identification checks, and make sure the name on your identification matches your registration. Remember the calculator rule: bring an allowed noiseless battery or solar model, since none is provided.
Key Takeaway
Treat the six-month eligibility window as a hard deadline. Get your clinical hours documented, supervisor verification complete and calculator ready before you pay the $225 fee, not after.
Keeping the Credential Active
Earning the credential is not the end of the obligation. You must maintain the required active underlying credential and complete annual registration. The PET specialty itself recertifies on a seven-year cycle, either through re-examination or by completing 42 PET-specific continuing education hours across that cycle, along with the required application and payment.
Note that continuing education obligations for your underlying credential, such as CNMT or ARRT, remain separate. Completing PET-specific CE for the specialty does not automatically satisfy the requirements of your base credential, and vice versa. Track both from the start. The details are governed by the NMTCB Continuing Competence Policy.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Generic study habits matter less than matching your schedule to the exam's structure. Because Diagnostic Procedures and Instrumentation/Quality Control together account for 65% of the exam, they deserve the most calendar time, but Radiation Protection and Radiopharmaceuticals contain many calculation-style items that reward repetition. A sample sequence:
Radiopharmaceuticals and Decay Math
- Review isotope properties, tracer mechanisms and biodistribution
- Drill decay and dose calculations with your approved calculator
Instrumentation/Quality Control
- Study detector physics, coincidence types and corrections
- Walk through daily scanner QC and dose-calibrator QC step by step
Diagnostic Procedures
- Cover oncologic, cardiac and neurologic protocols and patient preparation
- Practice artifact recognition and acquisition troubleshooting
Radiation Protection and Integration
- Review shielding, surveys, package handling and regulatory limits
- Take timed full-length practice sets to rehearse pacing across 225 questions
Front-loading the calculation-heavy material gives you time to build speed, and saving timed practice for the end lets you rehearse the real one-minute-per-question pace. Use our PET study guide to build a fuller plan, and test yourself on the PET practice test to find weak domains early. You can also explore the PET training options if you need structured coursework to close didactic gaps.
Frequently Asked Questions
It means Positron Emission Tomography. The credential is the NMTCB Positron Emission Tomography Technologist Certification, a specialty credential for technologists working in PET imaging. It is separate from entry-level CNMT and from other certifications that happen to share the acronym.
The exam has 225 four-option multiple-choice questions, of which 200 are scored and 25 are unscored pretest items. You have three hours 45 minutes, and you may mark, review and change answers before finishing.
Diagnostic Procedures is the largest at 35%, with 70 scored questions. Instrumentation/Quality Control follows at 30% (60 questions), then Radiopharmaceuticals at 25% (50 questions) and Radiation Protection at 10% (20 questions).
The nonrefundable application and examination processing fee is $225. Your eligibility to test lasts six months from approval, so confirm your documentation is complete before paying.
Maintain your required active underlying credential and annual registration. The PET specialty recertifies on a seven-year cycle through re-examination or 42 PET-specific CE hours, and your underlying credential's own CE requirements remain separate.