- What PET Training Actually Covers
- Two Eligibility Routes, Two Training Paths
- Logging Qualifying Clinical PET Hours
- The 70 Didactic Hours for Route Two
- The 100 Documented Clinical Competencies
- Training Mapped to the Four Exam Domains
- Training for the Exam Format Itself
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Where Trained PET Technologists Work
- Keeping the Credential After You Earn It
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The NMTCB PET specialty is a separate credential from entry-level CNMT, and training must target the PET-only content outline.
- Route one requires an active CNMT, ARRT(N) or CAMRT(RTNM) plus 700 qualifying clinical PET hours.
- Route two requires 1,000 clinical hours, 100 documented competencies and 70 didactic hours across four topic areas.
- Diagnostic Procedures carries 35% of the exam, so it deserves the largest share of training time.
What PET Training Actually Covers
"PET training" can mean several things: on-the-job clinical exposure, structured didactic coursework, documented competency sign-offs, and exam-focused review. For the Positron Emission Tomography Technologist Certification issued by the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB), all four matter, because eligibility itself is built from clinical hours and, for some candidates, didactic hours and documented competencies.
This is the PET-only specialty examination. It is not the entry-level CNMT, it is not the separate NMTCB(CT) credential, and it is not the PET/NCT combination. Training that mixes in generic nuclear medicine or CT content without anchoring to the PET outline will leave gaps. If you are still orienting yourself to the credential, start with What Is PET Certification? and then return here for the preparation side.
Two Eligibility Routes, Two Training Paths
NMTCB defines two routes to the PET specialty exam. The route you qualify for determines how much structured training you must document before you can even apply.
| Requirement | Route One | Route Two |
|---|---|---|
| Active underlying credential | CNMT, ARRT(N) or CAMRT(RTNM) | ARRT(R/T) or CAMRT(RT/RTT) |
| Additional credential | None stated | CT or MRI credential |
| Qualifying clinical PET hours | 700 | 1,000 |
| Documented clinical competencies | Not specified | 100 |
| Didactic hours | Not specified | 70 |
In practice, route one fits nuclear medicine technologists who already work with PET/CT and need to log hours. Route two fits radiography or radiation therapy professionals who have added CT or MRI and are moving into PET; they carry a heavier documentation burden because their underlying training did not include nuclear medicine content. For the full eligibility picture, see PET Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Logging Qualifying Clinical PET Hours
Clinical hours are the backbone of both routes: 700 for route one and 1,000 for route two. Two conditions shape how you plan them.
- Recency: Qualifying clinical and didactic work is subject to five-year recency conditions, so old experience may not count.
- Verification: Hours are subject to supervisor or employer verification, which means your training site needs to be willing and able to attest to your work.
Keep your own running log from day one, with dates, site, tasks performed and the name of the verifying supervisor. Reconstructing months of hours from memory when the application is due is a common source of delay. Confirm the exact definition of a "qualifying" hour against the current NMTCB application before you rely on any particular role to count.
Key Takeaway
Treat verification as part of training. Before accepting a clinical placement, ask whether the supervisor will sign off on your hours and competencies, and keep your log in a format they can easily review.
The 70 Didactic Hours for Route Two
Route-two candidates must document 70 didactic hours, split across four areas rather than pooled into one number:
- 20 hours on procedures
- 20 hours on instrumentation
- 10 hours on radiation protection
- 20 hours on radiopharmacy
Notice how this split mirrors, but does not exactly equal, the exam domain weights. Radiation Protection is the smallest bucket in both places, while procedures, instrumentation and radiopharmacy dominate. When evaluating a course or continuing-education program, check that it can document hours in the specific category you need. A broad PET overview that cannot be itemized into these four buckets may not satisfy the requirement.
The 100 Documented Clinical Competencies
Route two also requires 100 documented clinical competencies. NMTCB specifies the composition:
- 50 imaging cases
- 10 daily scanner quality control competencies
- 10 dose-calibrator quality control competencies
- 10 radiation survey and meter quality control competencies
- 10 radioactive-package handling competencies
- 10 radiopharmaceutical preparation competencies
This breakdown is a useful training map even if you are on route one. Daily scanner QC, dose-calibrator checks, survey meter checks, package receipt and radiopharmaceutical preparation are exactly the hands-on tasks that the Instrumentation/Quality Control, Radiation Protection and Radiopharmaceuticals domains test conceptually. Doing them repeatedly under supervision makes the exam questions feel familiar rather than abstract.
Training Mapped to the Four Exam Domains
The four content areas below are official examination headings with approximate weights. They describe what is tested, not an editorial recommendation for how long to study each. The outline allocates 70, 60, 20 and 50 scored questions to the four domains respectively, which is a concrete way to see where the points are. For a deeper breakdown, read PET Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 4 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Diagnostic Procedures (35%)
The largest domain, with 70 scored questions. Training here is about patient-facing and protocol-facing knowledge for PET studies.
- Patient preparation and its effect on tracer distribution and image quality
- Acquisition and reconstruction choices that change the final study
- Recognizing normal distribution, physiologic variants and common artifacts
- Indications for the studies you perform, from oncology to other applications listed in the outline
Domain 2: Instrumentation/Quality Control (30%)
With 60 scored questions, this domain rewards candidates who have actually run daily QC rather than only read about it.
- Detector and scanner principles, coincidence detection and the sources of image degradation
- Daily and periodic scanner quality control and what failures mean
- Dose-calibrator quality control tests and their frequencies
- PET/CT integration issues such as attenuation correction and co-registration
Domain 3: Radiation Protection (10%)
The smallest domain at 20 scored questions, but its questions are often calculation- or rule-driven, which makes them efficient points once learned.
- Time, distance and shielding principles applied to high-energy annihilation photons
- Survey procedures, meter checks and package receipt
- Dose limits, ALARA practice and handling of spills and patient release
- Regulatory and documentation expectations in your jurisdiction
Domain 4: Radiopharmaceuticals (25%)
Fifty scored questions covering the tracers and the processes that produce and deliver them.
- Properties, uptake mechanisms and clinical uses of the tracers named in the outline
- Production concepts, radionuclide characteristics and half-life implications for logistics
- Dose preparation, assay, calibration and administration considerations
- Quality and safety checks on radiopharmaceuticals before patient use
NMTCB does not endorse any particular commercial study guide, so whatever material you use, check its tracer coverage and topic list against the current outline yourself. Gaps in coverage are more likely to hurt you than any weakness in the writing. Our PET Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt walks through resource selection in more detail.
Training for the Exam Format Itself
Knowing the delivery format lets you rehearse under realistic conditions. Per the current NMTCB PET exam information:
- The exam is delivered on demand at computer-based test centers through IQT, Inc./Iso-Quality Testing.
- There are 225 four-option multiple-choice questions: 200 scored and 25 pretest items.
- You have three hours 45 minutes.
- You answer each question before advancing, but you may mark, review and change answers.
- The exam is closed book. You may bring an allowed noiseless battery or solar calculator without text-storage capability; none is supplied.
- Admission and matching identification requirements apply, and testing eligibility lasts six months.
Because the pretest items are not identified, treat every question as scored. The calculator rule matters for training: practice decay, dose and shielding calculations with a basic battery or solar calculator so you are not dependent on features you will not have. For the difficulty question, see How Hard Is the PET Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Sequencing Your Preparation
One scheduling idea tied to this exam: front-load the domains that your clinical work does not already cover, then finish with the heaviest-weighted domain under timed conditions. The example below is an illustration, not a prescribed NMTCB plan, and should be adjusted to your starting point.
Radiopharmaceuticals and Radiation Protection
- Tracer properties, preparation and assay concepts
- Survey, shielding and regulatory rules; practice decay calculations
Instrumentation/Quality Control
- Scanner physics and daily QC logic
- Dose-calibrator tests and failure responses
Diagnostic Procedures
- Protocols, preparation and artifact recognition
- Timed question sets to build stamina for the full session
Radiation Protection and Radiopharmaceuticals go first because they are rule- and fact-based and combine well with your competency logging. Diagnostic Procedures goes last because it is the largest domain and benefits most from full-length timed practice. Once you have worked through the material, a quick pass through the PET Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts helps consolidate, and the PET practice tests let you check recall against exam-style questions.
Where Trained PET Technologists Work
Training pays off in settings where PET imaging is performed. Typical employers include hospital nuclear medicine and radiology departments, academic medical centers, outpatient imaging centers, and cancer centers that rely heavily on PET/CT. Facilities with on-site cyclotrons or radiopharmacies also need people who understand tracer preparation and quality checks. Because the specialty requires an underlying credential, most candidates are already working technologists looking to formalize and broaden their PET skills.
Employers value documented competencies in quality control, radiation safety and radiopharmaceutical handling, which is another reason to keep thorough records during training. For role types and hiring patterns, see PET Jobs, and for compensation context without invented figures, PET Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.
Keeping the Credential After You Earn It
Training does not end at the exam. To maintain the PET specialty you must keep the required underlying credential active and complete annual registration. The PET specialty itself runs on a seven-year recertification cycle, satisfied either by re-examination or by 42 PET-specific continuing education hours across that cycle, along with the required application and payment. Continuing education obligations for your underlying credential are separate and still apply. Details are in the NMTCB Continuing Competence Policy.
Budget planning should include the nonrefundable $225 application and examination processing fee, plus any course, travel and registration costs; the PET Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown covers the full picture. And if you are weighing whether the investment makes sense for your situation, Is the PET Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 lays out the trade-offs.
Frequently Asked Questions
It depends on your route. Route one requires an active CNMT, ARRT(N) or CAMRT(RTNM) credential plus 700 qualifying clinical PET hours. Route two adds 100 documented competencies and 70 didactic hours (20 procedures, 20 instrumentation, 10 radiation protection, 20 radiopharmacy) on top of 1,000 clinical hours.
The current NMTCB specification is 225 four-option multiple-choice questions, of which 200 are scored and 25 are pretest items, with three hours 45 minutes allowed. You can mark, review and change answers.
The examination committee sets a passing standard specific to each exam form, based on content, item statistics and form difficulty. There is no universal PET raw percentage, and the entry-level CNMT scaled threshold does not transfer. See PET Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Not reliably. Historical figures and prep-provider success claims do not establish a current pass rate. Review PET Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to interpret what is available.
Testing eligibility lasts six months from approval. Bring matching identification, and plan your scheduling around that window; see PET Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for details.